Unlimited 40

Deck Construction Rules

  • Cards per deck: At least 40. Sideboards may include up to 5 cards. Your deck may contain:
    • Any number of copies of basic lands and commons.
    • Up to 1 card from the Power group (Ancestral Recall, Balance, Braingeyser, Chaos Orb, Mind Twist, Time Walk, Timetwister and Wheel of Fortune).
    • Up to 3 cards from the Fast Mana group (Black Lotus, Mana Vault, Mox Emerald, Mox Jet, Mox Pearl, Mox Ruby, Mox Sapphire, Sol Ring).
    • Up to 3 of each non-creature rare.
    • Up to 6 of each creature rare.
    • Up to 3 of each moderated card (Berserk, Birds of Paradise, Black Vise, Copper Tablet, Counterspell, Hypnotic Specter, Juggernaut, Lightning Bolt, Lord of Atlantis, Psionic Blast, Savannah Lions, Sedge Troll, Sinkhole).
    • Up to 6 of each uncommon.
    • Up to 3 of each dual lands.
    • Up to 6 total dual lands.
  • Allowed sets: Alpha, Beta and Unlimited.
  • Reprint rules: No reprints are allowed.


Contemporary rules and errata are followed, with a few exceptions:

  • Mana burn is still in effect.
  • Chaos Orb: 1, Tap: Choose a permanent on the battlefield. Flip Chaos Orb onto the battlefield from a height of at least 12 inches. If Chaos Orb flips over completely during the flip, and lands resting on the permanent chosen, destroy that permanent, and then destroy Chaos Orb.
  • Upon mutual agreement before a match, Chaos Orb can instead read: “1, Tap: Destroy target permanent, and then destroy Chaos Orb.”

Banned and Restricted Cards

  • Banned: Contract from Below, Darkpact, Demonic Attorney.
  • Restricted: Channel, Copy Artifact, Demonic Tutor, Earthquake, Icy Manipulator, Jade Statue, Regrowth, Time Vault.


You can find more information about this format on their website.